Using Groups to diversify access permissions

Groups: introduction

Manager and Affiliation admin only

Even though the default access level of a catalog entry or file is set globally, it is still possible to modify it for specific Users only. Namely, you can globally set the access level as low as required, and then control exactly who receives a higher level of access.

To this end, the Groups module (Clients > Groups) allows you to group any assortment of content entries, Marketing assets, Ancillary assets, Materials and/or Carts and assign specific Members to this Group in order to grant them exclusive access rights.

The process is simple: create a Group, add Users to this Group, and then decide which items these Users should have privileged access rights to. Just add files or even entire catalog entries to the Group and, when doing so, set an increased access level for Users in this Group.

For example, you may have received an exclusive new trailer for a film, and you would like to an exclusive group of clients to see this trailer on the platform, without making it available to every registered client. To do so, you could first upload the trailer as Unpublished, which will keep it invisible from all registered clients. Then, to make it visible to only a few of them, you could set up a Group, add those registered clients as members to whom you’d like to grant privileged access, and then add the trailer to the Group with an access level of Viewable.

Using Groups

The following functions are available:

  • To create a Group, go to Clients > Groups and click New Group. Alternatively, you can create a new Group by selecting Add to new Group when adding items from the Content or Material tabs.

Creating a new Group

  • To edit a Group‘s name and description, click Edit when hovering your mouse pointer over a Group in the Groups tab.
  • To add Members to a Group, open the Group via Clients > Groups, go to the Members tab and click the Add Members button.Only registered Users can be added to a Group.Once a User is a Member of at least one Group, the User’s detail page (accessible via Clients > Companies (reg.) or Clients > Users) will display this information in its Groups tab.

  • Adding a Group Member

    Adding a Group Member

  • To add a catalog entry to a Group, use the Add > Add to Group button in either the catalog list or detail view, and then confirm which Group to add the item to.
    Alternatively, open the Group via Clients > Groups, go to the Contents tab and click the Add Contents button.

  • Screen shot 15

    Adding a catalog entry to a Group

  • To add a Marketing asset to a Group, use the Add > Add to Group button in the Marketing tab of a catalog entry’s detail view, and then confirm which Group to add the item to.
    Alternatively, open the Group via Clients > Groups, go to the Videos or Images tab (depending on which type of Marketing asset you’d like to add) and click the Add Videos or Add Images button.
  • To add an Ancillary asset to a Group, use the Add > Add to Group button in the Ancillary tab of a catalog entry’s detail view, or in the Material > Ancillaries tab, and then confirm which Group to add the item to.
    Alternatively, open the Group via Clients > Groups, go to the Ancillaries tab and click the Add Ancillaries button.
  • To add a Media File to a Group, use the Add > Add to Group button in the Materials tab of a catalog entry’s detail view, or in the Material > Media Files tab, and then confirm which Group to add the item to.
    Alternatively, open the Group via Clients > Groups, go to the Media Files tab and click the Add Media Files button.
  • To add a Cart to a Group, use the Add > Add to Group button in the Material > Carts tab, and then confirm which Group to add the item to.
    Alternatively, open the Group via Clients > Groups, go to the Carts tab and click the Add Cart button.

  • Screen shot 16

    Adding a Cart to a Group

  • To delete a Group, click Delete when hovering your mouse pointer over a Group in the Groups tab. You can also delete several Groups at once by ticking the checkboxes next to the names of the Groups in question and then clicking the Delete button.
  • For an overview of the Groups that an individual User is a member of, please open the User’s details (via Clients > Users) and view the Groups tab. Be aware that the Groups tab will only appear if the User is currently attached to least one Group.
    2017-05-19T10:24:21+00:00